2007 Award Results

Jon Kinsman, YFFL Commissioner

December 21, 2007

Most Valuable Player

If there is such a thing as a one-man team, Tom Brady may have been it in 2007. Accounting for nearly 42% of the team's scoring, Brady led Bear Poop to a wild card berth in a breakout season that saw him come within 4 points of Peyton Manning's single-season scoring record. Despite putting up solid numbers throughout his career, Brady was only given the reigns of the franchise in 2005 after playing through a platoon situation with long-time Poop QB Steve McNair. The result has been 3 straight Pro Bowl appearances and now a unanimous selection as MVP of the 2007 season.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Tom Brady 7 0 0 21
Tony Romo 1 4 2 13
Randy Moss 0 2 2 6
Joseph Addai 0 1 1 3
Adrian Peterson 0 1 1 3
Terrell Owens 0 0 2 2

Rookie of the Year

Could we be looking at the second-coming of LaDainian Tomlinson? When Anthony Aceto called in the second overall pick of the 2007 Draft from Yankee Stadium, it may have forever transformed the fortunes of the downtrodden White Guys franchise. After posting 110 points (second only to L.T.) and leading the White Guys to the best record in the NFC, Peterson was a unanimous selection as Rookie of the Year. The only question now is how high is the ceiling for the man they call "Purple Jesus"?

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Adrian Peterson 7 0 0 21
Marshawn Lynch 1 5 1 14
Calvin Johnson 0 2 3 7
Nick Folk 0 1 3 5
Dwayne Bowe 0 0 1 1
Sidney Rice 0 0 0 0

Macor Misa Award

When Derek Anderson stepped in for the Browns and tossed 5 touchdowns during Week 2, YFFL owners were still a little skeptical. Afterall, Elvis Grbac had 5 touchdowns in a game too. However, after posting 2 touchdown in the next three games, Anthony Aceto and the White Guys took a roll of the dice on Anderson when Matt Leinart was lost to injury for the season. The result was a 100 point season and the NFC East title. Eat your heart out, Brady Quinn.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Derek Anderson 5 1 0 17
Wes Welker 1 5 1 14
Ernest Graham 1 1 4 9
Dallas Clark 1 0 1 4
Roddy White 0 1 1 3
Nick Folk 0 0 1 1

Owner of the Year

Of all the award categories, Owner of the Year may have been the most wide open in 2007. With Chris Davidson's Big Boys spoiling the playoff hopes of many a contender down the stretch along with the potent offense of the Apple Eaters, many pundits thought Chris might bring home the hardware for the first time since 1998. In the end, Kevin Sansone's best-in-the-AFC Llamas and 7-6 Huskers garnered him 5 of the 7 possible first place votes and his second OotY award. Thanks to the Drew Brees and Edgerrin James trades, careful drafting of Joseph Addai and Andre Johnson, and the shrewd acquisitions of players like Marion Barber and Brandon Marshall, Kevin Sansone has spent the last few years building two teams that can compete at the highest levels of the YFFL.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Kevin Sansone 5 1 1 18
Chris Davidson 2 5 0 16
Mike Kinsman 1 0 3 6
Brian Davidson 0 2 1 5
Bobby Sansone 0 0 2 2
Anthony Aceto 0 0 1 1