2006 Award Results

Jon Kinsman, YFFL Commissioner

December 20, 2006

Most Valuable Player

After setting the regular season scoring record for a non-QB and leading his team to a division title, there was little doubt that LaDainian Tomlinson would be bringing home plenty of hardware in 2006. After a slow start that included a two week span where he scored only 2 points, a number of owners were doubting whether any RB would break the 100 point barrier this season. Thanks to an eight week stretch where L.T. averaged over 24 points a game, he put those fears to rest and shattered Priest Holmes' 4 year old mark to become the first running back to break 200 points in a single season.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
LaDainian Tomlinson 7 0 0 21
Larry Johnson 0 4 1 9
Peyton Manning 1 2 0 7
Brian Westbrook 0 0 5 5
Willie Parker 0 1 1 3
Donovan McNabb 0 1 1 3

Rookie of the Year

When Donte Stallworth was traded to the Eagles at the end of the preseason, owners scrambled to pick up the new #2 receiver in New Orleans. Devery Henderson went off the board early, but Steve Dugas and the Mallards slipped in to snatch an unknown tight end from Hofstra that was impressing everyone in camp. That player was Marques Colston, and thanks to a prolific Saints passing offense, he narrowly edged out fellow surprise freshman performaner Maurice Jones-Drew for the 2006 Rookie of the Year award.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Marques Colston 4 1 2 16
Maurice Jones-Drew 2 4 1 15
Joseph Addai 1 2 3 10
Reggie Bush 1 0 1 4
Laurence Maroney 0 1 1 4
Matt Leinart 0 0 0 0

Macor Misa Award

With all apologies to Wayne Chrebet (and therefore, Bobby Sansone) Hofstra isn't exactly considered a football powerhouse. Despite a huge frame and NBA Draft-like "upside", Marques Colston was completely ignored on YFFL draft day. A season later and he's the first multiple award winner in YFFL history. Colston literally came out of nowhere to be one of the biggest stories of the season and could be a force for years to come.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Marques Colston 3 1 1 12
Rex Grossman 2 1 2 10
Nick Novak 1 2 1 8
Tony Romo 1 2 1 8
Robbie Gould 0 2 2 6
Chris Baker 1 0 1 4

Owner of the Year

One of the league's most controversial owners, Mike's unconventional drafting strategy, inability to sensor himself on uncomfortable issues and willingness to take huge gambles has more often than not resulted in amazing results. 2006 was one of his shining moments as he won both of his divisions by wide margins and left few doubts about which two teams were the class of the YFFL. The Chickens continued one of the greatest regular season runs in league history by placing in the top 5 in single season scoring for the 3rd time in 5 years, while the Buddies won a league-high 9 games in a row on their way to capturing the competitive AFC West.

Name 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Total
Mike Kinsman 6 1 0 20
Chris Davidson 0 5 1 11
Anthony Aceto 1 2 3 10
Bobby Sansone 1 0 2 5
Steve Dugas 0 0 1 1
Brian Davidson 0 0 1 1